The key to making the most of your WLAM membership is to get involved!  A great way to do so is to join one of our WLAM committees; use the WLAM Committee Preference Form. For more information, please contact the Committee Chair of the Committee you are interested in joining.  If a committee has yet to be assigned a chair, please contact the WLAM President, Donna MacKenzie.



Leadership Identification & Development/Nominations & Awards Committee

Chair (Immediate Past-President): Julie Gafkay

Members: Kelly Brushaber, Alena Clark, Amanda Narvaes

The chair of this committee works with state and regional leadership to identify and develop interested members for leadership positions within the Association. This committee handles the annual nomination of state officers and submits a proposed slate to the Board of Directors for approval. This committee also evaluates members and/or regions nominated for Association awards. To become a member of this committee, you must be appointed by your Region or the State President of the Association.

Regional Development Committee

Chair (Current President): Donna MacKenzie

Members: Kristina Bilowus, Kelly Brushaber, Susan Chalgian, Alena Clark, Julie Gafkay, Erin Klug, Amanda Narvaes, Samantha Orvis, Shaina Reed

This committee works with interested members to establish new regions and/or student chapters in the underrepresented areas of the State of Michigan. This committee also works with existing regions and/or student chapters to establish mentoring opportunities.

Annual Meeting Committee

Chair (Current President-Elect): Alena Clark

Members: Roquia Draper, Erin Flynn, Erin Klug, Amanda Narvaes, Kirsten Silwanowicz, Nicolette Zachary

This committee plans and manages the annual statewide meeting (including the content of the meeting program, obtaining sponsors and speakers, securing a location, promoting the meeting in the media, onsite facilitation at the meeting, and subsequent evaluation follow-up).

Membership Committee

Chair (Current Vice-President): Roquia Draper

Members: Hon. Janet Boes, Molly Conway, Jackie Culler, Hon. Kirsten Frank Kelly, Kristina Joseph, Ashley McAlpine 

This committee works together to encourage new membership and helps WLAM retain current members. Establishes and maintains the Member Services Program (MSP). The MSP maintains and evaluates existing membership services, and creates programs to promote membership retention and growth.  Further, the MSP evaluates future potential member services and submits recommendations to the Board for implementation.

Finance Committee

Chair (Current Treasurer): Ryan Kelly

Members: Erin Flynn, Junqi Hang, Kirsten Silwanowicz

The chair of the Finance Committee submits the annual budget for adoption. This committee works together with the Director to maintain Association finances (including preparation of monthly financial statements, consolidated quarterly reports, and the Association’s annual tax return). This committee also ensures accuracy and compliance with the Association’s financial policies and procedures.  This committee generally consists of the State Treasurer and the treasurers of each active region and/or student chapter.

Technology & Communications Committee

Chair (Current Secretary): Erin Klug

Members: Sara Allen, Mais Moran, Tiffany Storm, Nicolette Zachary,

The chair of this committee oversees the maintenance of the Association’s website and other media sources (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, listserv, etc.), the distribution of the Association’s quarterly electronic newsletter (e-Focus), and the distribution of referral emails to members. This committee works to ensure that the Association’s media sources are current and up to date with accurate leadership contact information, past event content displayed, and timely information is provided regarding upcoming events.

Bylaws, Policies & Procedures Committee

Chair: Amanda Tourangeau Marler

Members: Kelly Brushaber, Molly Conway, Rachel Estelle, Ryan Kelly, Hon. Denise Langford Morris

This committee reviews the Association’s bylaws, policies and procedures and makes recommendations for appropriate changes to the Board of Directors and the membership.

Legal Affairs, Legislative & CREC Committee

Co-Chairs: Julie Gafkay and Amanda Narvaes

This committee performs the following activities:

  • Legal Affairs/Amicus – Identifies cases in which the Association can participate as amicus curiae, brings such cases to the Board of the Association for consideration, and, when necessary, coordinates such participation. This committee also addresses any other response to existing law.
  • Legislative – Reviews and recommends support or opposition to legislation of interest to the membership.
  • CREC (Candidate Rating & Endorsement Committee) – Reviews, rates or endorses, and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors regarding candidates and/or potential appointees for judicial, quasi-judicial, and in some cases non-partisan appointive positions.

Program Committee (includes Career Development, Networking and Charitable Action)

Co-Chairs: Nicolette Zachary and Erin Klug

Members: Melanie Duda, Erin Flynn, Tanya Grillo, Amanda Tourangeau Marler

This committee works at the state and regional level to perform the following activities:

  • Career Development – Develops and establishes workshops and seminars that educate members regarding developing laws, technology and provides tools for career development.
  • Networking – Develops and establishes networking activities at the regional and state level for Association members. This committee also coordinates networking activities with other organizations/associations.
  • Charitable – Develops and establishes charitable activities at the regional and state level for Association members. This committee also coordinates charitable activities with other organizations/associations.


Gender Equity Committee

Co-Chairs: Angela Walker and Susan Chalgian

Members: Kristina Bilowus, Lindsey Bliven, Alena Clark, Melanie Duda, Julie Gafkay, Amanda Tourangeau Marler, Samantha Orvis, Nicole Smithson

This committee develops programs and services to: (1) assist members in dealing with gender bias; (2) raise awareness among the bench, bar, law schools, law enforcement, state government and/or general public of the continuing problem of gender bias; and (3) attempt to reduce the frequency and severity of the incidents and effects of gender bias on individual lawyers and members of society.

5-Year Plan Committee

Chair: Donna MacKenzie

Members: Alena Clark, Roquia Draper, Julie Gafkay, Ryan Kelly, Erin Klug

This committee reviews the goals of the current year of the 5-year Plan and works with various committees and Association leaders to ensure annual goals are met.  If necessary, this committee makes recommendations related to prioritization, implementation and/or timing of various 5-year Plan activities.

Domestic Violence Committee

Co-Chairs: Kristina Bilowus and Hon. Denise Langford Morris

Members: Lindsay Bliven, Hon. Janet Boes, Molly Conway, Melanie Duda, Nicole Smithson

This committee will work with the State Bar of Michigan as part of a taskforce to establish a domestic violence assistance program.

Historical Preservation Committee

Co-Chairs: Nicole Smithson

Members: Elizabeth Bransdorfer, Margaret Costello, Ann Erickson Gault, Marla Linderman, Deborah Miela, Kristen Pursley, Charlene Snow, Julie Wagner

This committee will work to preserve, archive and present the history of WLAM.