Oakland | WBA Update September 2019

The Oakland Region ended the 2018-2019 year strong and kept the momentum going to kick-off the Summer Season.

On May 18th, 2019-2020 WBA President Erin Flynn was honored with the 2019 Regeana Myrick Outstanding Young Lawyer Award at the 12th Annual YLS Summit by the State Bar of Michigan Young Lawyers Section for her an overwhelming commitment to public service, service to the bar, as well as exceptional leadership. Congratulations Erin!

The WBA Annual Dinner was held at the Birmingham Athletic Club on May 30, 2019. At the Dinner, the 2019-2020 WBA Board of Directors were sworn in and the Joan Young Judicial Excellence Award, Evelyn Forrest Distinguished Advocate Award, Sarah Killgore Wertman Scholarship, and Member of the Year Award were presented. This awardees included the Hon. Wendy Potts, attorney Jennifer M. Grieco, UDM Law Student Jewel Haji, and attorney Tanya M. Murray.


2019-2020 Board of Directors: Erin Flynn, President; Katie (Katherine) Pacynski, President-Elect; Kristina Bilowus, Vice President; Nicole Gettler, Recording Secretary; Brittany Mouzourakis, Corresponding Secretary; Stephanie Brochert, Treasurer; Deanna Kossaras, WLAM Representative; and Tanya Lundberg, Immediate Past President.

In July, WBA and WLAM members celebrated the investiture of the Hon. Kameshia Gant of the Oakland County Circuit Court and presented her with a WLAM banner for her courtroom.

Also in July, the WBA Board of Directors held a Summer Planning Meeting to discuss upcoming WBA events and initiatives for the 2019-2020 year!

Be on the lookout for signature WBA events in the coming months, including, monthly Bar Briefs, the WBA Past President’s Reunion, and more!