Washtenaw Update January 2019

WLAM, Washtenaw Region member, 15th District Court Judge Elizabeth Hines was presented the William H. Rehnquist Award by United States Supreme Court Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. during a ceremony at the U.S. Supreme Court on November 15, 2018.  The William H. Rehnquist Award is presented annually by the National Center for State Courts and honors one state court judge who demonstrates qualities of judicial excellence: integrity, fairness, open-mindedness, knowledge of the law, professional ethics, creativity, sound judgment, intellectual courage, and decisiveness.

WLAM, Washtenaw held our annual holiday party at the home of our long-time member, Nora Wright.  The Honorable Karen Q. Valvo, 15 District Court Judge, was the recipient of the Mary Foster Award at this event.  The Mary Foster Award is bestowed annually to a member of our organization whose leadership, talent, and significant contributions to women provide a role model for women in the profession and women in general.

Judge Valvo (c) with Washtenaw President Parisa Ghazaeri and past-President Teresa Kileen (2005-06)
Current Washtenaw Board with Judge Valvo
Judge Darlene O’Brien, 22nd Circuit Trial Court Judge at the 2018 Holiday Party