3 members of WLAM receive awards at SBM Awards Banquet

On Wednesday, September 26, 2018, the State Bar of Michigan held its Awards Banquet at the Annual Meeting.

In addition to the Kimberly Cahill Award, which was bestowed on WLAM, three individual members also received awards at the banquet.

Past President, Justice Marilyn J. Kelly, was a co-recipient of the  Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award, which recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan.

Julie I .Fershtman was a co-recipient of the Roberts P. Hudson Award, which is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public.

In addition, Liisa R. Speaker, a member of the Michigan Association for Justice (MAJ), was presented with the Respected Advocate Award from the Michigan Defense Trial Council (MDTC). The MDTC gives the award annually to a member of the plaintiff’s bar for the purpose of recognizing and honoring the individual’s history of successful representation of clients and adherence to the highest standards of ethics. ┬áThis award is given to promote mutual respect and civility.